Austria Cafe



Country & People
Political System
Federal Provinces
Social Security
Cooking Recipes
Austria Cafe Gallery

The coat-of-arms consists of a white cross on a red field.

Origins of the coat-of-arms: The oldest seal of the City of Vienna displays a single-headed eagle. The escutcheon first occurs on a coin dating from 1278. The colours of the escutcheon are first documented in the Brotherhood registry of St. Christoph am Arlberg from around 1395/1400. The device may be borrowed from an imperial flag.

Area: 415 square kilometres (160 square miles).

Population: 1.59 million. Vienna is both a city and a federal province in its own right.

Climate information is here.

Patron Saint: Saint Klemens Maria Hofbauer (priest of the Redemptorist Order, born 1751 in Tasswitz in southern Moravia [today part of the Czech Republic], died 1820 in Vienna).

Saint's Day: March 15

Anthem: Neither the city nor the province of Vienna has an official anthem. The "Blue Danube Waltz" (words by Franz von Gernerth, music by Johann Strauss II) rank as the unofficial anthem.

History: Around the middle of the twelfth century the Babenbergs established their residence in Vienna. In the thirteenth century Vienna was twice a free imperial city for brief periods. From the early seventeenth century onwards it served almost without interruption as the capital and imperial residence of the Holy Roman Empire. From 1806 onwards it was the capital and residence of the Austrian Empire. Up to the early twentieth century Vienna belonged to the province of Lower Austria. In 1921 the decision was taken - in part for reasons of electoral strategy - to split Vienna off from Lower Austria and to make it a federal province in its own right. This separation came into effect on January 1, 1922.

The server of the Vienna Municipal Administrative Offices is here.